top of page
  • Writer's picturehannah jordan

Cereal vs Fruit.∙Worship Wednesday 5.13.20

Updated: May 19, 2020

Do you struggle with worrying too much about what the future may hold? Maybe sometimes you struggle to take breaks during the day because you feel like if you don't complete one of your tasks for the day, you're a failure. One uncompleted task could set you back for the rest of the week, or even month. What should I eat for breakfast? If I eat the sugary cereal, that's unhealthy but the healthy option takes so much time.


These are things that run through my head every. single. day. Things that don't even matter. If I get two extra hours of sleep, maybe I'll be rested but there's less time that I'll have to accomplish everything on my to-do list. Take a minute. Write down some things that you stress about every day. Look at those things, and as cheesy as it might sound, say, "you don't define me." Just do it, you might just feel a weight lifted off your shoulders.

 

Here's what the Bible says about worrying about the future:

Isaiah 30:21 "Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, 'This is the way; walk in it.'"

Matthew 6:34 "Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself."


God knows which choice is the best, and which choice you will choose. That choice of fruit or cereal for breakfast is not going to ruin the rest of your day!

As I'm writing this, it's 3:26pm Tuesday night, the day before this posts. I had the worst start to my day. Zero motivation and felt sick. So sick that I knew I wouldn't be able to completely do my workouts tonight, so I was going to cut them in half. I called myself a "failure" over and over again. All over some silly workouts. YOU DON'T NEED TO WORRY ABOUT THESE SILLY LITTLE THINGS.


You can make your plans, but God's plan will always be greater than yours.

Proverbs 19:21 "Many are the plans in a person's heart, but it is the Lord's purpose that prevails."

Proverbs 16:9 "The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps."


There was a reason God started my day off "not-so-great". He wanted me to see that these little things we worry about, and these bad days, have a purpose. He wanted me to share that after I RESTED (resting is very important on days like these) I had the motivation and mindset that I needed to get through the rest of the day. I had no inspiration for Worship Wednesday today. And while I was desperately searching for anything to write about, I gave in. I took a break, despite telling myself that "I'm a failure. I've wasted my whole day." (very dramatic by the way since it was only like 12) After that break, and all of the encouragement and positive messages I'd gotten finally caught up to me, and I decided that rather than laying around feeling bad about myself, I should get up and do something.


God made my day go the way that it did, so that He could show me that stressing about the little things, is the worst way to spend a day. He saw that I've been searching for something to write about, so He gave me today's experience as inspiration. Isn't that crazy? He saw me struggling, so He gave me help. In a form that I, at the time, saw as punishment.


So when you worry, take a break. Rest. Inspiration will strike. Motivation will come. God has your back, he gives you these choices for a reason.


So eat the sugary cereal, sleep in a couple hours, TAKE A MENTAL HEALTH DAY, or if you can't stand the thought of a whole day (me) a couple hours will be just fine. Take a couple hours, and carry on with your life.


"Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself."

(might be my new favorite Bible verse, or at least top ten)

 

Hey guys! Wow I really hope you enjoyed that! It's been a struggle this week to think of a topic, and I am so blessed that God saw my struggle, and gave me lots and lots and LOTS of help!

Have an amazing day & rest of the week and know that God sees your struggle, and He may be helping, and you might not even see it!! LOOK FOR THE GOOD WITHIN THE STRUGGLE. Ü

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page