top of page
  • Writer's picturehannah jordan

Quiet Time Tips!

here's some of my favorite tips for a productive & very very happy bible study! (these are just the things i do to stay on track & get in the mood to read the bible! they work for me & they might work for you too!)
 

#1 G E T R I D O F A N Y D I S T R A C T I O N S

this is a very hard one to do, especially for those of us who can hardly tear ourselves away from our phones because we're worried we'll get a really important text, or simply because we're scrolling through instagram and can't seem to stop.

but you can't expect to give 100% to your bible study while you have your phone. so put your phone in a different room, or even just on the other side of the room you're in. "out of sight, out of mind" right?


#2 S U R R O U N D I N G S A R E I M P O R T A N T

surround yourself with things that make you feel content & really give you motivation to get into the word! for some people (me haha) these things can include:

  • sitting outside! the wind blowing the trees, and the birds chirping, and the sunshine really makes me feel productive! rainy days are very comforting and make me feel content, too! :)

  • candles! what's more cozy than a candle?!

  • a nice, cold glass of water! or orange juice, coffee, anything you want! just something to drink that usually puts you in a greattt mood!

  • have all of your supplies & anything else that you'll need for your quiet time all in one place, so you don't have to break concentration to grab something you forgot!!




#3 S U P P L I E S

if you spend a little bit of money on supplies- you know; highlighters, post-it notes, journals, devotions- that will add lots of motivation for your quiet time. don't get me wrong, you don't need anything more than a Bible and a pen for bible study, but for those of us who thrive off of creativity, having colorful supplies and a brand new blank journal gives us lotsssss of motivation for anythinggg including quiet time of course :) (let me know if you want a post about my favorite supplies!!!)


#4 G E T M O T I V A T E D

whatever works for you! listen to a good worship playlist, school through pinterest (mine is linked at the bottom of this post, wink wink), flip through old notes! reading through my old notes and seeing how far i've come gives me a rush that makes me feel like i could read the whole entire Bible in one day!!
























#5 C L E A N S P A C E

if your room is clean, you won't be thinking of how many chores you'll have to do after your quiet time! not to mention that you need a clean, organized space in order to be completely focused & productive! :)


#6 P L A N A H E A D

schedules are literally the only way i will ever get anything done. if i went one day without a to-do list, i honestly think i could get one or two things done, but i would not be able to spend time with God if i didn't have a plan for my day. that sounds bad but hey, whatever works, right?


here are some ways that i plan & work my quiet time into my day

  • to-do lists : whether it's in my faith & focus planner (christianplanner.com) or just a plain old post-it note, to-do lists are a necessity to make sure i'm doing everything that i wanted to accomplish during my quiet time.
















  • hourly schedules : this one seems a little crazy, but sometimes when i set certain goals for specific times during the day, i hold myself more accountable for my quiet time!

the biggest tip i can give you for this is to set a time during the day, a time when you know you won't be busy, and you won't have distractions, to sit down and have your quiet time. my time is from 6-7am. i wake up at 5:50 (crazy, i've been told) so that i can wake up and wash my face, brush my teeth, and then do my quiet time when i haven't grabbed my phone yet!


#7 P R A Y

prayyyyyy! the most effective and BEST way to get motivation for your quiet time, is to ask God for wisdom, and patience. ask Him to take away the distractions & to give you encouragement! He's your biggest supporter!! so before your Quiet Time, PRAY.

 

hey guysss! ahh i hope you enjoyed that, i know it's taken a long time to get it up but i just wanted to make sure i shared my most effective & best tips for Quiet Time! Let me know if some of these help you!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page