top of page
  • Writer's picturehannah jordan

Quiet Time ∙ Worship Wednesday 5.27.20

Hey y'all! I hope you're all doing amazing on this lovely Worship Wednesday! Today I wanted to talk a little bit about why having quiet time with Jesus is important to growing in our relationship with Him.

 

Getting to know God is much like getting to know a friend; we need to talk to Him, listen to Him, make time for Him. Quiet Time is a huge part of that.


Here are a few of my favorite Bible verses about Quiet Time:


- Matthew 6:33 "But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given

to you as well."

- Psalm 119:9 "How can a young person stay on the path of purity? By living according to your word."

- Psalm 1:2 "But whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night."

Sometimes we feel that it's too hard to work in some quiet time to our days filled with incredibly busy teenager lives. (sarcasm in case you couldn't tell) It shouldn't be hard for us. We're always saying, "Oh I'll just do it tomorrow" or, "I've had a long day, I've done a lot so I should give myself a break." But our relationship with God is NOT something we should let ourselves skip. I believe that we SHOULD beat ourselves up over skipping our quiet time. It sounds a little harsh but that's just my view on it. :)


Sometimes when we've had a bad day we say, "God understands. He won't be mad at me if I skip my quiet time today." and He won't. But as we are growing in our relationship with God, we need to be completely devoted to him- and that means having discipline. We need to have discipline.


Something that I'm going to try to do from now on, is set a specific time every day to have my quiet time. I'm thinking 6am-7am (or 8am depending how long it lasts) and then maybe 7pm-8pm, because you can never have too much time with God. (The set morning time will also encourage me to ACTUALLY wake up to my alarm and not hit snooze over and over again until it's 8:00 :))


Something that might also encourage you in your Quiet Time is a future blog post - Quiet Time Tips. It was originally going to be "Bible Study Tips" but, Quiet Time seems more fitting and has a wider range of things that you could do during that time! I'm going to try really hard to get that post up sometime this weekend!

 

I hope you enjoyed today's Worship Wednesday! As usual leave a like on this post aaaand leave me any feedback you want! Have a beautiful day with with God & everyone you love! <3



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page